Olha Herasymiuk has become the ambassador of the political prisoner Timur Ibragimov - Національна рада України з питань телебачення і радіомовлення

Olha Herasymiuk has become the ambassador of the political prisoner Timur Ibragimov

The Chair of the National Council Olha Herasymiuk has joined the programme of authors-ambassadors in support of Ukrainian Kremlin prisoners. She became an ambassador of the political prisoner Timur Ibragimov, a citizen journalist of the Crimean Solidarity, who has been in prison for the fifth year. This programme was initiated by the PEN Ukraine and the Information Centre for Human Rights “ZMINA”.

Timur Ibragimov can be sentenced to 20 years in a Russian hard labour colony. Olha Herasymuik will tell his stories and the stories of his family, communicate with and support them, write public letters in support of him and call for the journalist’s release.

Currently, 12 Ukrainian journalists – Ukrainian citizens – are shut in prison or under house arrest in Russia and temporarily occupied Crimea for political reasons. They are Osman Arifmemetov, Marlene (Suleiman) Asanov, Asan Akhtemov, Remzi Bekirov, Olexii Bessarabov, Vladuslav Yesypenko, Timur Ibragimov, Server Mustafaev,
Seiran Saliiev, Amet Suleimanov, Ruslan Suleimanov and Rustem Sheikhaliiev. And a former journalist Naryman Dzhelial, who is the first deputy chairman of the Mejlis of the Crimean Tatar People.

They pass judgement on trumped-up cases with multiple human rights violations without proper evidence.

Within the framework of this programme, famous Ukrainian writers and journalists become public ambassadors of political prisoners of journalists. One political prisoner is assigned to each of the attracted ambassadors. They will talk about cases of Kremlin hostages in their publications, interviews, during public events in Ukraine and abroad.

Victoriia Amelina, Myroslava Barchuk, Olha Herasymiuk, Larysa Denysenko, Irena Karpa, Andrii Kurkov, Yurii Makarov, Myroslav Marynovych, Vitalii Portnykov, Iryna Slavinska, Ostap Slyvynskyi, Mariana Savka and Iryna Tsilyk have joined the programme.


Подати запит
на публічну інформацію